Lahore Qalandars have a good time after taking a wicket. Picture: Twitter/PSL

Islamabad United’s Shadab Khan’s gamble to make use of Hussain Talat for the penultimate over proved pricey as Lahore Qalandars trumped the two-time champions to spring to the highest of the desk after the Pakistan Tremendous League’s (PSL) sixth version resumed on the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

The Afghan participant’s consecutive boundaries within the remaining over guided Lahore Qalandars to win the match on the final ball of the sport.

Following the well-deserved victory, the Qalandars have now turn into desk toppers with 8 factors to their title.

Rashid scored 15 from 5 balls, whereas Qalandars skipper Sohail Akhtar lead from the entrance, scoring 40 runs — the best particular person rating within the innings — earlier than being dismissed by Fawad Ahmed.

Mohammad Hafeez scored 29, Tim David 23, Ben Dunk 17, whereas Fakhar Zaman and Muhammad Faizan hit 9 runs every.

In the meantime, from Islamabad United, Hasan Ali took two wickets, whereas Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, and Fawad Ahmed have been capable of take one every.

Earlier, Islamabad United had set a 144-run goal for Lahore Qalandars. None of United’s gamers, besides Faheem Ashraf, 27, have been capable of rating above 20 runs.

United put up a mediocre batting effort after their prime order — Usman Khawaja, 18, Colin Munro, 11, Rohail Nazir, 8 — crumpled, and the center order might present little impetus to the innings.

Colin Munro and hoe city debutant Usman Khawaja opened for United, whereas Shaheen Shah Afridi began the bowling for the Qalandars.

James Faulkner took three wickets, Haris Rauf and Ahmed Daniyal two every, and Shaheen Shah Afridi and Rashid Khan have been capable of choose a wicket every.

The Qalandars have been capable of maintain their blowing and fielding tight as they have been capable of limit United to a struggling 143.

This was the primary match of PSL 2021 the place each the groups went head-to-head.

Earlier than the beginning of the match, Islamabad United had gained 3 out of 4 matches and was above Lahore Qalandars on the idea of Web Run Fee (NRR) on the factors desk.


Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Sohail Akhtar, Muhammad Faizan, Mohammed Hafeez, Ben Dunk (wicket keeper), Tim David, James Faulkner, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Ahmed Daniyal, Haris Rauf

Islamabad United: Colin Munro, Usman Khawaja, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Hussain Talat, Rohail Nazir (wicket keeper), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Wasim, Fawad Ahmed

Watch all “PSL” matches and “PSL reside” stream on geo tremendous

Source link